Home » pinterest-worthy » Let the fun begin! Or, baby boy nursery inspiration.

Let the fun begin! Or, baby boy nursery inspiration.

ad5f1fbfcc1ea85fbf39c5d800f2a322

Yeehaw!

We are expecting another baby—a boy this time! “NO,” I said when the ultrasound technician told us. Disbelief. (You probably aren’t surprised that I had neither the will nor the desire to come up with some kind of clever gender reveal thing.)

To tell you the truth, the utmost issue in my mind re: Bebé Tres—aside from worrying about what in the world little boys wear, and fearing the inevitable urine sprayed in my face—is the nursery. I’ve been having a pretty good time brainstorming and playing [mental] tetris with furniture arrangements.

To get you up to speed: we are in a charming little bungalow in a charming little Nashville neighborhood. The girls are sharing a room, and so we have the office/third bedroom available for the new little dude. I hate to admit that this “home office” has been steadily slip-sliding into junk room status. (Do you have a junk room? Please tell me about it in the comments!)

So I’m excited for a fresh start. Redemption time, baby.

I decided that until we learned the sex of Bebé Tres, I’d be content with gathering ideas and brainstorming (i.e. Pinterest-ing hardcore) before springing into action. (Maybe springing isn’t the most exact term. Plodding into action?) I’ve been following Nashville designer Colleen Locke’s blog, Trot Home, where she opens a window into her process, especially the step of dreaming and scheming before narrowing down your options and deciding on your direction (which she discusses in this post in particular).

In that spirit, I’ll share some of the inspiration images I found.

[The picture at the top of the post is one I’ve had on my Pinterest baby baby board from the beginning, from Abbey Nova’s Upper West Side apartment.]

Here’s one that’s awesome and patriotic (though I’d be in trouble with Mama Rote if I didn’t point out that the flag’s field of blue ought to be on the viewer’s left):

flag baby nurseryWe have a framed Springsteen poster I gave to Israel when we were dating that could be used to similar effect.

I love this clean, white look with the oriental rug:

nursery white walls

A similar feel:

Amber Interiors nurseryBut then I saw this office tour (Sarah Vickers’ and Kiel James Patrick’s shared space):

Sarah Vickers officeSarah Vickers office

I really dig the green, and the layered, collected vibe.

(And I forgot to say that I’d like to keep a small office space in the nursery: at least a small desk for laptop, the printer, small filing cabinet.)

More delicious greens:

fc5ce9a4b8b87970ccfbc0bb2266383d 80030fd91eae37812ece6cffdf3d821a

Yum. And so, the time has come (the walrus said), to make decisions.

I scientifically evaluated my Pinterest board, and saw that my two directions were the white and the green, using a rug with character in either scenario. I’ve been reading Montessori stuff about simplifying the kid’s environment (not to mention Marie Kondo!); and considering that it’s wise for me to keep it simple (stupid), I decided to go with the white, clean walls; anchored with some kind of awesome, beautiful rug; natural wood and white furniture. (And I need not tell you, many pops of color.)

I’d love an oriental rug,

e34d01c654d29d4285e0ff737ea3739e

or maybe a southwest/Mexican feeling one.

002ad152eb4caa8eb482f6e44dc5cf6d

I’m hereby sending this wish into the universe. (The room is about 11×10, in case you have the ideal rug for me.)

Which direction calls to you? Green or white? Perhaps my soul is an old British study, while my inner parent longs to be clean California cool.

5 thoughts on “Let the fun begin! Or, baby boy nursery inspiration.

  1. Well, you know the truth about me: we have a sewing junk room, and a books junk room, and a grandgirls junk room, and a …
    If your Aunt Kace comments and says she has a junk room, she’s kidding. Your Mamacella used to say that if Kace could figure out how to throw out today’s newspaper yesterday, she would!

  2. Thank goodness Tom will never see this post. :) He is always wanting to discuss my junk room. We moved 4 years ago and I was just going to store a “few” things in the office until I had time to find a place for everything. Well, fast forward 48 months later and I am still full of good intentions. At this point I think it is time to rename the “Office.” lol I need that teepee in the first picture.

  3. YES WE HAVE A JUNK ROOM. And your daughter has slept in it. And the makeshift curtain out of your hand me down SNUGGIE stayed clothespinned to the windows for months. I don’t deserve my house.
    I was also staring at our green oriental rug (wool from pottery barn) in our “guest room” aka place where the crib is and feeling like I might want to have it move on. Something to ponder.
    I’m glad you chose white, and I love your self-description at the end. Right on.

  4. Pingback: Nursery Update! | tell me a story

what do you think?

