Home » pinterest-worthy » Princesses eat mac and cheese.

Princesses eat mac and cheese.

 photo 4D167B20-C817-4DED-9B66-410891A29196_zpshgfau9fi.jpg

This weekend we celebrated Mary Tobin’s third birthday with all the pomp and circumstance befitting a firstborn princesa. Up until now, I’d hardly given her gifts for birthdays and Christmas since she didn’t really care either way (well, we gave small gifts mainly to keep up appearances—so that we wouldn’t look like terrible parents), plus the grandparents and tias always have gifts covered more than adequately. However, by this birthday, the developmental threshold has been crossed at which a kid knows that it’s all about her. Mary Tobin was preening and asking, “Is that a surprise for my birthday?” about any bag or package in the house. So obnoxious, yet so winsome. Fellas, watch out for those eyelashes.

Still, her needs are simple: her only specific requests were cupcakes and balloons. (Thank you, Angelina Ballerina. Seriously.) Done and done. After a day of fun activities on Saturday— ballet, bounce place (a big indoor overpriced trampoline place), nap, bunny house, baking; all buh buh B words! (school is going to kill me)—we had a little birthday party at our house Sunday afternoon.

 photo 1652CD71-A352-4649-AAC6-260CAA2E8827_zpsb8g0rjk5.jpgFootball game on in the background, to teach her that it’s not all about her. It’s not all about me either. At her first birthday party, I refused to let Israel and my dad turn the game on. I’m totally mellow now. 
 photo 2DD4D16B-636B-43BA-B6AB-DCB782F8D29B_zps103jvvsx.jpg

Again this year the gathering was more about the grown-ups, with plenty of beverages to accompany the decadent MAC AND CHEESE BAR. I totally recommend this option as a fail-safe adult- and kid-pleaser. I also totally recommend hiring Mama Rote as your scullery maid to prepare the scrumptious macaroni and all the toppings. Here’s the recipe from my family cookbook (h/t Aunt Reba!):

 photo C6A686A7-808B-42BA-91D0-5F024E50CD66_zpsof24nigt.jpg

Our toppings included: bacon bits, smoked sausage (small slices, coated in BBQ sauce, broiled), peas, tomatoes, sauteed mushrooms, hot sauce, salsa, salt and pepper.

Of course, the birthday girl took hers plain. Happy birthday, MT!

4 thoughts on “Princesses eat mac and cheese.

  1. Oh my goodness, Josie!!! Your Aunt Reba’s recipe is like mine! Sometimes if I feel fancy, I’ll use ricotta cheese in place of the cottage cheese – or maybe blend the cottage cheese. And if I don’t have enough cheddar, I ‘ll use whatever’s in the icebox. Delish!

  2. I totally stole Mama Rote’s recipe. #simplepleasures Still think a trip to the grocery store with my <3 year old grandchildren is as much fun for them and as educational as any commercial activity. Love your parents…love your blog. Real life.

  3. Pingback: Sunday Supper {Guest Post} - Joel + Kitty's Blog

what do you think?

