Home » art is fun » New Art!

New Art!

Art enables us to find ourselves and lose ourselves at the same time. -Thomas Merton

 photo photo5_zps865b168e.jpg

I intended to share some new paintings from Uncle Steve this past Saturday, on his birthday. But, not unusually, things got away from me. I was telling Israel that my life this weekend reminded me too much of this immortal SNL skit and Chris Farley’s brilliant use of air quotes.

In my pregnant mom version: so maybe my house is not what you would call “clean.” I haven’t “taken a shower.” My family has no “fresh underwear.” And, sadly, as I just re-watched that video, two of Chris Farley’s also apply to me right now: I don’t “wear clothes that fit me.” I can’t “reach all the parts of my body.”

Too much information?

So . . . Uncle Steve, happy belated birthday! We love your art! Thank you!

If you know Uncle Steve, you know he’s a jack of all trades. Aside from his day job, he landscapes a “meadow-like back yard . . . full of simple pleasures” that gets featured in local magazines. Plus he’s funny and charming, friendly and approachable, making you so comfortable that you may just ask if you can use his back yard for your wedding. Or ask him to be your partner on The Amazing Race. He’s so thoughtful; he regularly calls me, or my husband, just to check in and say hello or that they’re thinking about us. Plus, he’s as handsome as Jamie Foxx.

If that weren’t enough, he’s a fantastic artist. After I saw two of his gorgeous tobacco leaf paintings last year, I had to ask him for something for our place!

 photo photo4_zps192aa559.jpg

This one, called “Appalachian Memories,” I love. I don’t think his tobacco plants grew this year, so I’m not sure what type of leaves these are that create the rolling mountain landscape. Mary Tobin and I have been picking up leaves on our walks; they are just amazing to stare at. I love that in this painting, the part becomes the whole. I automatically relax when I look at it. I feel connected to the place my mom and uncle grew up, to my aunt and uncle’s house, to the land that produced these leaves, to my uncle who picked them up and created something with them, to my family.

Next, Mary Tobin received new art for her room walk-in closet nursery! I can tell you nothing about the technique used, but it adds the perfect touch of magic/fantasy/whimsy/delight to the space. Usually when hanging things in her room I offer two acceptable spots and let Mary Tobin choose where something will go. But for this one, forget about “good parenting.” (Chris Farley’s living in my mind.)

 photo photo3_zpsec5c8705.jpg

It’s in a place of honor right above the SeΓ±orita Mexicana, whose colors complement the new painting beautifully.

 photo photo22_zps14e5bae7.jpgPlease excuse my poor photography, which does no justice to any of these!

The Mexican lady, by the way, is a Carlos Merida print that was tracked down on e-bay by Uncle Steve’s better half, Aunt Kace, after I had pinned the image on my Pinterest nursery inspiration board. I cried when they unveiled it at Mary Tobin’s baby shower. (To be fair I cry about a lot of things when pregnant; it’s official.)

Aunt Kace and Uncle Steve, what a pair you make! Thank you for decorating our house!

 

5 thoughts on “New Art!

  1. Ok this makes me so so so so happy!! To think that you guys love anything at ALL about your ol Aunt and Uncle (Aunt Virginia would just call us “A and U”) warms the cockles of our collective hearts!!! (Cue Sally Field acceptance speech cut: “You like me (us), you really like me/us!”). We like YOU 4. We really do. ;))

  2. What a delightful family you are blessed with Josie! I happen to love your Aunt Kace & Uncle Steve, too. (and YOU as well!)

  3. Well, of course you know that I try not to worry about whether or not a house is “clean.”
    But I don’t know what your Great Grandmother Wagner would say about no “fresh underwear.” She was a big believer in always having on “fresh underwear” in case you were in a car wreck and had to be taken to the hospital!

  4. Pingback: Musical Beds (+ Girls’ Room Inspiration!) | tell me a story

  5. Pingback: Awesomely Cheap (or Cheaply Awesome?) Art | tell me a story

what do you think?

