Home » reviews & recommendations » new classics on tnt » Perfect Valentine’s Date

Perfect Valentine’s Date

Let’s take all the angsty drama out of planning Valentine’s Day.

We (or maybe just I) have a history of misplaced expectations for birthdays and holidays—especially “romantic” holidays like this one.

Exhibits A,B,C:

  • The time Israel was insulted by the Christmas gift I gave him.
  • The time I asked Israel what my birthday gift was going to be, after he had taken me to an expensive dinner, sent flowers to my office, and organized a birthday party.
  • The time Israel gave me an elegant gift and the most beautiful letter I’ve ever received for Valentine’s Day, and I made a funny little low-effort card.

All those happened before we got married. I guess we’re in it for the long haul now! Now our policy for Valentine’s Day is to alternate who plans the date each year. (I forgot if we have a gift policy. Honey bear, if you’re reading, will you let me know where you stand on that?)

If you don’t know what to do with your date, or your friends, on the dreaded day, my best recommendation for DC area folks is Princess Bride Movie Night at Arlington Cinema and Drafthouse.

They serve food and drinks, and the $8 ticket (“inconceivable!”) includes a wine tasting and stand up comedy before the movie. The food is just OK bar food, and in my experience stand up comedy is hit or miss. But it’s a cool, unique theater experience. And it’s rare to enjoy The Princess Bride as a communal viewing. Magic and love will be in the air.

My Westley will always come for me.

This kind of date is out of the ordinary and special for the holiday, but still fun and casual (i.e., low pressure, so your date won’t feel bad for not buying you expensive jewelry).

If you don’t live in DC, I don’t know what to tell you. Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line.

P.S. Odorless! Tasteless! Dissolves instantly in liquid!  And Princess Bride inspired valentines here, here, and here. First one is sweet; the last two crack me up.

P.P.S. Another option to add some zip to your typically movie date: Did you know that the IMAX Theater in the Museum of Natural History plays movies currently in theaters (right now, it’s The Hobbit), AND they serve wine and beer?!

2 thoughts on “Perfect Valentine’s Date

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s Changes (or, Colin Firth forever and ever, amen.) | tell me a story

what do you think?

