Home » faith » Midweek Motivation: Do the little things.

Midweek Motivation: Do the little things.

My last post about Peter Bis was quoted here. It’s an honor to be part of all the remembrances of Pete going on. But I’ll be honest, it was also flattering to my pride for my writing to be noticed. Ironic, since we see from the outpouring of love for Pete that a man on society’s bottom rung can have greater influence than the leaders a stone’s throw away in the halls of power. (Put another way, “the foolish things of the world shame the wise.”)

Among all the notes and flowers now adorning Pete’s perch, one says “In memory of Peter, please greet passers-by.” I won’t lie to you and say that I’m going to give a “Top of the mornin’!” to everybody now. (It’s just impractical, for one thing, walking to Union Station during rush hour: “Hi. Hi. Hello. Morning. Hi, hi hi hi.”) But, I can make an effort to be friendlier.

More broadly, I’m encouraged that small things matter. In this stage of my life, where yesterday I literally scooped poo out of a diaper into a vial for testing (the princesa may have picked up a little something on our recent trip to Mexico!), it matters for me to love my family and do my best in the day-to-day [sometimes poopy] tasks. So for now, my patron saint is David of Wales, who said “Do the little things.”

I like Archbishop of Canterbury Rowan Williams’ thoughts on why that little quote is so powerful:

…it reminds us that the primary things for us are the relationships around us, the need to work at what’s under our hands, what’s within our reach.

We can transform our domestic, our family relationships, our national life to some extent, if we do that with focus and concentration in the presence of God.

So, what’s under your hands? What’s within your reach? Work on that; I will, too.

what do you think?

