Home » reviews & recommendations » books » Lessons Learned:

Lessons Learned:

Mom's impressive front porch arrangement

  • Like I do, Mary Tobin enjoys old family stories and Frank Sinatra Christmas carols. Also, Mama Rote is the baby whisperer. (I’m in love with my mom, and my whole family, right now. It’s been a dream being home with a six-week old— multiple baby watchers at the ready!)
  • Jesus is trending.
  • My youngest brother wants to live in the woods after graduation. Reminds me of Homer in Walk Across AmericaThis guy is his inspiration. I’m reading Elizabeth Gilbert’s The Last American Man to check him out.
  • From Uncle Steve (on writing, but also life):

One of the few things I know about writing is this: spend it all, play it, lose it all, right away, every time. Do not hoard what seems good for a later place in the book, or for another book; give it all, give it now.   -Annie Dillard

Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Lessons Learned:

  1. (Ben again)

    You’ve outed me!!! :) Oh well! As long as you never disclose my super secret future location to the gubment, or people I don’t care for, it’s ok !

  2. Pingback: World Cup Update + Links, or, How not to find a good Mexican restaurant | tell me a story

what do you think?

