Home » reviews & recommendations » books » Sugar and Spice

Sugar and Spice

I will be honest; I thought I was having a boy. Fortunately, mi suegra has better intuition and had already been knitting for a girl! I’m not sure why I thought boy, but I grew up with three brothers so I guess visions of little dude outfits and rooms with antlers and old maps came more readily to my mind. So it was not at all disappointing to learn that our cub is a cub-ette, but I had to make a mental adjustment.

Two things got me especially excited for a girl: monogrammed bloomers, and the day I had the [mind-blowing] thought that I will eventually get to introduce my daughter to Anne of Green Gables. I’m being serious; it really blows my mind to think about her entering this most loved of books, and all the other worlds that reading offers.

So Anne is a few years away, but I need your input! What are your best, most favorite, treasured children’s books? Parents, I’d love your help. But even if you’re anti-children or something, you should be interested in this type of thing, because your early reading shaped your life!

“Because when you read a book as a child, it becomes a part of your identity in a way that no other reading in your whole life does . . . and I . . . I’ve gotten carried away, haven’t I?”

Earlier this year some of the girls had a mini-shower for my friend Meggie and me to get our nursery libraries started. (Ahem, I mean, the shelf in the spot in our room where we will keep baby stuff and be cozy. No nursery in this a.p.t. We’ll be happy and snug!)

I loved that Jordan went non-PC with Princess Bess for baby girl Ortega and Thomas the Tank for Meggie’s boy.

What a great idea for a shower! Mama Rote’s standard baby gift was usually a book and the corresponding stuffed animal. She’s just a genius in so many ways.

For older kids, one of my new favorite blogs, Dinner A Love Story—which is usually about food as the name implies—had some fascinating interviews this summer with really awesome  authors on what kids’ books they recommend. (Even if you don’t care to learn about kids’ books, I found these posts really entertaining to read and to hear these guys’ voices outside of their normal authorial realm.)

The Reading List: George Saunders

The Reading List: Daniel Handler 

The Reading List: Pseudonymous Bosch

3 thoughts on “Sugar and Spice

  1. Anne of Green Gables is obvi a must! So excited for your little bosom buddy! Until then, there’s always Pat the Bunny, Goodnight Moon, and everything Beatrix Potter–that Bea really knows her stuff! Have you considered the name Beatrix–might be worth a gander!

  2. For starters, since you asked….
    Richard Scarry picture books; The Little House books; Alexander’s Terrible, Horrible, Really Bad Day; Max Mulligan and His Steam Shovel; Amelia Bedelia; The Great Brain books; the Narnia books; Blueberries for Sal; Ferdinand the Bull.
    And today I picked up La Arana Muy Ocupada by Eric Carle.

what do you think?

