Home » life » I left my heart in. . .

I left my heart in. . .


Check out these sweet, wistful postcards by Paper Pastries (via A Cup of Jo via Anna Kate). . . with several cities from-which-to-choose.

And here’s why I love my mom (besides the fact that she raised me and provided nourishment).  This is what she said when I asked her which one she’d pick:

I don’t know about the card – I don’t see there being a big market for ‘I left my heart at Lake Cheston’ or ‘I left my heart at the Delt house’ or maybe ‘I left my heart at the truck stop’.

I’ve never been there, but ‘I left my heart in Missoula’ has a certain charm.

Oh my stars, she is a riot.  I don’t know that I want to know the stories behind those– but I’d like to submit my own:

I left my heart in Charlottesville -or-

I left my heart at Foxfield -or-

I left my heart in Western Christian Thought discussion with the TA who was, in fact, a Canadian rockstar.

(Not as pithy?)

Israel’s out of town, but he might say:

I left my heart in the OC (the Old Country, that is) -or-

I left my heart in the old Yankee Stadium

Perhaps my brother Will would say:

I left my heart at Wilderness Ranch -or-

I misplaced my heart in the back of my filthy truck!

What would you say??

8 thoughts on “I left my heart in. . .

  1. hahahaha! I always love hearing from Mama Rote on your blog! (love foxfield, the Banque, & Hereford)
    I left my heart at Dovecote.
    I left my heart at that roller skating rink in Staunton.
    I left my heart (and my dry clothes) in the basement of Clemens after being super-soaked.
    I left my heart in Clifford :).

  2. I left my heart with that same TA – I loved the clothes he wore, and he was the best.
    I also left my heart along with my waistline at Arch’s.

    But your mother’s Missoula – made me want to have had the chance to leave my heart in Missoula with Brad Pitt in a River Runs through it – where we could live next door to Wiley and Austen.

  3. Pingback: Highs and Lows « idaclare

  4. Pingback: Thoughts. « tell me a story

  5. Pingback: I left my heart on Bourbon Street. | tell me a story

what do you think?

