our friend Oscar

Just in time to distract from the winter doldrums, nominations for the 2009 Academy Awards have been released.  Anyone have any comments or recommendations?

Best Picture:

· The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

· Frost/Nixon

· Milk

· The Reader

· Slumdog Millionaire

Best Actor:

· Richard Jenkins, The Visitor

· Frank Langella, Frost/Nixon

· Sean Penn, Milk

· Brad Pitt, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

· Mickey Rourke, The Wrestler

Best Actress:

· Anne Hathaway, Rachel Getting Married

· Angelina Jolie, Changeling

· Melissa Leo, Frozen River

· Meryl Streep, Doubt

· Kate Winslet, The Reader

Best Supporting Actor:

· Josh Brolin, Milk

· Robert Downey Jr., Tropic Thunder

· Philip Seymour Hoffman, Doubt

· Heath Ledger, The Dark Knight

· Michael Shannon, Revolutionary Road

Best Supporting Actress:

· Amy Adams, Doubt

· Penelope Cruz, Vicky Cristina Barcelona

· Viola Davis, Doubt

· Taraji P. Henson, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

· Marisa Tomei, The Wrestler

I’d like to see a lot of these– especially Josh Brolin when he’s not playing “Brand” in The Goonies!  Really, everyone in the supporting actor category has been in some pretty goofy movies, or has been pretty goofy in life.  (Eliza Joy trying to imitate Robert Downey, Jr for the game Cranium was one of my life’s highlights: “Dad.  Dad, I’m going to buy some drugs.”)

But, art imitates life, or something like that, so instead of Oscar contenders, Izzy and I have recently watched some New York-centric movies following last weekend’s trip to NYC.  For you struggling actors, watch Tootsie to be inspired by Dustin Hoffman as he pursues his art to extremes and poses as a woman to win a part in a “General Hospital”-like soap. He may or may not find love along the way. To me, this was hilarious (as cross-dressing always is, correct?).

I got in touch with my husband’s gangster roots (he once told me his appendicitis scar was from a knife fight) when we saw Notorious– yes, the biopic of Biggie Smalls aka The Notorious B.I.G. aka Christopher Wallace. This also served as a good brush up on the 90s history I didn’t fully take in during elementary and middle school– the east coast/west coast rap rivalry, Tupac, Biggie, Puff Daddy, etc.  I say, East coast, b!tch!  However, I still love Snoop.

And on a completely different note, On The Town is a lively Frank Sinatra, Gene Kelly musical where three sailors on leave for 24 hours find girls and see the big city!  For all the White Christmas fans, it’s fun to see a younger Vera Ellen, who also stars.  And I finally learned where my mom got the song: “New York, New York it’s a wonderful town.  The Bronx is up and the Battery’s down. . .”

4 thoughts on “our friend Oscar

  1. Josie,
    I loved your post, especially the paragraph re: New York movies and your husband’s attempts to persuade you that he was an East Coast gangster.
    As for Oscar nominations, they definitely distracted me from the winter doldrums in this bleak midwinter. I recently watched Rachel Getting Married, and I thought Anne Hathaway was brilliant. This is definitely her most complex, and in some ways pathetic (referring to pathos, in the purest sense) character yet. Because I haven’t seen many of the other actresses and their films that are nominated, I can’t say for sure whether I think she should take away the award, but I definitely think she should be considered. Good for her for breaking out (at least for a little bit) of her stereotypical role as the innocent, beautiful heroine!

    AK

  2. Aww I love On the Town! And when I hear New York that song is always in my head! But I wasn’t sure anyone else had seen that film, so it brings a smile to my face that you linked a clip. Your blog is so fun to visit and read, keep it up!

  3. We recently saw Doubt. It was very intense, even though we really knew what was going to happen based on the previews. The end of the movie doesn’t bring a complete resolution, and strangers were discussing did he or didn’t he? as they left the theatre.
    Meryl Streep gave another performance which demonstrated her range as an actress. It is fascinating that she does this role so well and is also the middle aged rock star in Mamma Mia. Phillip Seymour Hoffman was also outstanding, but I wonder why Meryl was nominated for Best Actress and he was nominated for Best Supporting Actor.

what do you think?

