Home » family » World Cup Update + Links, or, How not to find a good Mexican restaurant

World Cup Update + Links, or, How not to find a good Mexican restaurant

Friendly friends, our family has moved to a new city! I wanted to officially write it here, in case you’re not paying the closest attention to my instagram feed. Now that it’s on the blog and official, I can move on to some other items of business.

I do want to write a little bit about saying goodbye to DC, and about Inez’ birth story, but I’m learning that blogging waits for no man. . . reminds me of this quote from Annie Dillard: “One of the few things I know about writing is this: spend it all, play it, lose it all, right away, every time. Do not hoard what seems good for a later place in the book, or for another book; give it all, give it now.”

So today we explored Nashville in one of the most important ways, the quest for a go-to Mexican restaurant. The need was urgent since Mexico debuted in the the World Cup today (and won! no thanks to the refs). So the girls put on our Mexican dresses and Israel donned green and red, and we stalked a random strip mall Mexican restaurant by calling ahead to make sure they had TVs, then arriving 20 minutes before their opening time of 11am. At least we amused the Mexicans who worked there and amused/confused the white HVAC repair guys who came in after us for their usual lunch. (What I’m saying is that the atmosphere was not quite as exciting as this.)

And so, some links for you, beginning with ways to get pumped up for the World Cup, moving on to Father’s Day, decorating, life advice. I’ll tie it all together with a picture at the end.

The legendary Maradona warming up with joy. (H/t Dinner A Love Story)

A history of World Cup uniforms and the corresponding women’s hemlines.

John Oliver explains FIFA, and does a killer French accent.

Father’s Day idea (?): manly scented candles. My favorites (in theory) are Memphis Style BBQ, Sawdust, and Santa’s Beard. (H/t John!)

“Germany to Mexico: How America’s source of immigrants has changed over a century.” With a cool map.

I love so much about this cottage featured in Garden & Gun. 

Also from Garden & Gun, a beach chair for Dad to remind him of family vacations to Destin and Gulf Shores. (Sorry these gift ideas aren’t actually in time for anything!)

Making me feel good about hoarding: Style Court’s review of Mary Randolph Carter’s Never Stop to Think . . . Do I Have A Place for This?. “So try not to stifle that childlike curiosity and desire to pick stuff up, Carter says, because at the very least what you gather will likely keep your rooms from looking just like your neighbor’s.”

A refreshing graduation speech: “I hate to be the one to say it, but you probably won’t get there.” Even so, “Stay curious. Keep learning.”

Okay! I’ve gone through all the open tabs on my phone AND computer, and I’ve shared what I wanted to share (left out our electric bill and articles on DIY carpet fresheners . . . you’re welcome). I feel so much better, do you?

And, because you earned it, here it is:

Tornado 75 Home Kyle Rote, 15

(A soccer dad who loves to give life advice. Short shorts. Unrelated to decorating.)

P.S. Two posts about my dad.

2 thoughts on “World Cup Update + Links, or, How not to find a good Mexican restaurant

  1. Just this afternoon, Kyle made me stop what I was doing and watch a YouTube video of John Oliver talking about football/soccer on Seth Meyer’s show…pretty entertaining.

  2. Pingback: Friday Favorites: 6.27.14 | Elizabeth Robertson Williams

what do you think?

